Examples of Credos

I believe in stories. Stories that live and breathe. Stories that are fruitful and multiply. That

create stories within stories. Bring into being stories of my own. I want stories that provoke

a powerful response be it tears, laughter, or thought. I desire a story to have a gravity of its

own. If it’s not worth telling more than once, it’s not worth telling. It should continue to

pull me back again and again . . .

* * *

I believe that music is a force that stands and beckons the souls of humans to step out of

their secret places. I have seen the power of a guitar’s voice as it draws out the souls of

strangers in a crowd from under their superficiality and holds them spellbound as one. I

have felt an overwhelming sense of unity fall over a huge crowd of people when the

insightful artist reveals his sorrow, his frustration, or his overwhelming joy with a melody.

I believe in closed eyes and dim lighting, in tapping feet, concert halls, and heads carried up

and down by the rolling swells of a melody. . .

* * *

I believe in the wisdom of the ages. My happiest place was sitting on my grandmother’s

counter, while she was cooking, trying to memorize her cornbread recipe. I would sit on her

powder blue carpet and run my fingers over the hand stitches of her many old quilts, while

the colored glass humming bird feeders on her porch made patches of purple and green

move slowly around her living room. Her wisdom slipped by so many, but I drank it in like

sunlight. . .

One Response

  1. These credos give me a little more inspiration on what to write about in my I believe essay. This will make my blogs easier after figuring out my personal credo and basing it off my previous belief statements.

Leave a Reply

