Change Your Mind

A personal note from me, Ms. A.  In many student posts and discussions, I read negative comments students make about their writing, or English abilities.  Language is a powerful thing.  You will never succeed unless you change your language and change your mind.  I used to be one of those who was “never good at Math.”  In college, I changed my mind and changed my language and surprisingly discovered a gift for Physics I never knew I had.  Physics is the ultimate Math and I ended up a paid TA in the Physics department for two years allowing me to leave college without debt.  Go figure.  Change your mind and open it to the possibilities you never thought possible.

One Response

  1. I agree with this completely. I took English in the summer because “”I have never been very good at English””. I truly have enjoyed this. It started out with “a room with a view” and I felt like I just jumped in. Ms A has a way of making you feel like you cannot fail because expressing yourself is such an individual thing. I realize as I move on in my college career I have to follow some rules but she has started and built my confidence by allowing a broad range of types of writing so there is something for everyone. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

